Revelation 19-22

Well, the final 4 CHapters. 🙂  Here we go.  It would be appropriate to use the word Hallelujah here since it is the first time it is used in the New Testament. It means “Praise the Lord”.  As the church is preparing itself to be the bride of Jesus the gate of heaven opens up for the second time.  Here is THE REVELATION.  The Unveiling of who The Christ Is, and the image we need to keep.  He is our mighty Warrior.

I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and makes war. His eyes are like blazing fire, and on his head are many crowns. He has a name written on him that no one knows but he himself. He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean. Out of his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations. “He will rule them with an iron scepter.” He treads the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God Almighty. On his robe and on his thigh he has this name written:
       KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS.

 DO we understand the Holiness of the Lord!  This is who is on our team every day.  He is so Holy there is a name that we cannot even make out of earthly letters to describe how holy he is.   And most importantly, the weapon of choice, the weapon that will strike down all the nations…we take for such granted how powerful the Word of God is!   The sword is the Word.

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  Hebrews 4:12

At the end  of 19 the lamb beast and the  false prophet (two of the three from satan’s trinity) are thrown into the Lake of Sulfur (Eternal Hell) while Satan is locked into the Abyss for 1000 years.  This 1000 year period is called the Millenium.   There will be 2 resurrections of Christians, one at the beginning of the 1000 years, and one that follows but because Jesus conquered death on THE CROSS this second death will not be for the CHristians, just for those who STILL don’t believe (and trust me Free Will, will still leave many not to worship Christ even though He will be reigning for those 1000 years) and then Satan will be released and there will be a final battle, Gog and Magog.  If this sounds familiar it might be for 2 reasons….one, is Magog is mentioned in GENESIS!!! See the whole Plan has ALWAYS been the PLAN! and second there are three the Apocalyptic Books (Visuals of End times) Revelation, Daniel, and Ezekiel.  In Ezekiel 37 and 38, two prophecies are being made.

  1. The the nation of Israel will be a State. (seemed literally impossible for 2000 years)
  2. The Battle of Gog and Magog.

The Second Coming of Christ would come in between those 2 events.  Well, we see the battle of Gog and Magog now after the Millenium, so when does Israel become a state?? Uhhhh May 14, 1948.  So ALLS I am saying, is BE PREPARED.  It will come like a thief in the night!  That’s right, we are in between those two events. 

 Well, no need for me to talk about the New Jerusalem, the heavenly Heavens because Chapter 21 is perfectly clear, but I cannot wait.  Jesus is our reward!  Our storehouse of Treasure is seeing Him face to face in all that Glory.  There are no gates on the city (no crime), not even a SUN for THE SON is the source of glorious light.  But if I may just add one last and final note: 

We just read the Word of God.  He may have used people to put it in a scroll but every word was hand picked from God Breathing it into that author.  This is our answer Book to every question or situation life will throw at us.  Maybe you didn’t realize how perfect it was before but know it is now.  God ends the book with a WARNING because He KNOWS our Human Nature and obviously He knows that the “church” will do this too, the oldest written book in history is JOB and it’s theme is false teaching and the last is Revelation and it ends with a warning of false teaching:

I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds anything to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book. And if anyone takes words away from this book of prophecy, God will take away from him his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book. He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon.”
      Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.

 The grace of the Lord Jesus be with God’s people. Amen. (Rev 22: 18-21)

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Becca on December 31, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Yay! Hallelujah!! I am so excited that I have now completely read the Bible from start to finish. I am even more excited to continue studying (and maybe pulling off additional layers of understanding) in 2011!!! Thanks so much Trish for all of your countless hours of work on this blog to help so many people learn more about God’s word, our sword!!

    I loved reading chapter 21…the description of the New Jerusalem. Hallelujah!

  2. I am very thankful for this time spent with the Lord. I have been blessed beyound measure. I want to thank you Patrica for your dedication and guidance, may God bless you.

  3. Posted by Beth Cox on December 31, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Praise the Lord!!! I have finished reading the Bible from start to finish and have been completely blessed by each and every day being in His Word. I never attempted to read the Bible chronologically and I can say that it was the most incredible way to read and study His Word. I LOVED it!!! Thank you Trish for your tireless commitment and dedication to this Blog. It was so instrumental in me understanding and being committed on a daily basis to reading. Thank you to all the ladies I have had the opportunity to share in this wonderful experience. I didn’t comment much, but I was right with you all the whole way and enjoyed your comments and questions. I enjoyed getting to know you all, especially at the monthly quizzes. It was great fun and what a blessing to get to do this experience with other believers in Christ. I would be happy to host an end of the Bible Readthrough party if any of you are interested. I told Trish she can just come and enjoy!!!
    Again, I have been blessed and my walk strengthened by this Readthrough. I will never forget 2010!!!
    Love and Blessings to you all…my fellow Readthrough buddies,
    Beth Cox

  4. Posted by Kathy Bunce on December 31, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I am with you Beth, praising God this morning for the blessing of reading His entire word this year. I have tried before, unsuccessfully. This year, reading along with the blog commentary and chronologically gave me a desire to remain faithful to the commitment. I have been blessed in inmeasureable ways by being in His word everyday. I have grown so much through the great insight you have provided Trish, and the comments posted by everyone else. This has been an amazing year!!

  5. Posted by brittany devault on December 31, 2010 at 10:56 am

    i can’t belive it’s over already!! the year flew!!! and it was AMAZING!!! it literally has changed my life!!! and ive decided to read thru again starting tomorrow!! LOL i’m so excited to be back in Genesis and see where the next year takes me. THank you Trish and Beth for being so encouraging and persistant about trying to keep everyone on track!

    Trish thank you so much for all your time and devotion!! I’m so glad God placed on your heart to do this!! I’m so glad he did!! I love everyone i have gotten to know thru this! i love all yall!!!! (i may follow along with the kids read!! :))

    Beth I would love a celebration party!!

    God is sooooo good and reading his word cover to cover has made me love him sooooo much more!! and im continually in awe of him!!!!

    love my church family too!! everyone have a blessed New Year!!!

  6. Posted by Erica on December 31, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Wow, the last day! I second all the comments. This has been an amazing year. I am a completely different person than I was December 31, 2009. God’s word has changed me and I pray that the hunger and passion to study will only increase.

    Brittany, I’m starting over again tomorrow too! I think it will be so cool to at least have one layer of understanding under our belts and go in for another layer.

    Beth, I would love a celebration party. Penny and I had actually been talking about that. I got “Bible Mad Gab” for Christmas that I can bring!

    Love all you ladies! I look forward to what 2011 brings! Stay in touch!

  7. Posted by Tedi Cromer on December 31, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I didn’t jump in until the New Testament, but I too feel so blessed to have read this with you. Thank you, Patricia. Bless you as you continue with the children. Love you, sweet friend.

  8. Posted by brittany devault on December 31, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    ERICA are you just going to read this blog all over again and follow this schedule? thats what i was going to do, but i didn’t know if there was another one you were going to follow.

  9. Posted by Erica on December 31, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I’m planning on joining the women’s study at church but I’m sure I’ll refer back to the blog some too.

  10. Posted by brittany devault on December 31, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    OHHHHH GOTCHA!!! i need to look into that!!!

  11. Posted by Lori on December 31, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Hi!! I enjoyed reading along in the NT this year! (well, for the 2nd half of it anyway!) I look forward to reading along with the 2010 commentaries in 2011, and have recruited a few others along with me so that we can keep each other in check! Last night’s read was awesome. I stayed up so late so that I could study it thoroughly. I laid in bed last night praising God and just imagining what it will be like when we get there. Just only imagining it brings tears because I know it will be something so so far wonderfully beyond what this human fleshly body can handle–just beholding the face of Jesus. It reminds me of a song we sing at church, “When We All Get to Heaven” there is a verse of that song that says “…just one glimse of Him in glory will the toils of life repay!” And I know it will! Praise His holy, holy name. Thanks for keeping the blog available! I look forward to a year of TRANSFORMATION !!!!! 🙂

  12. WOW WOW WOW. Life changing! When you hear that the Word is Living and Active, or it is the only thing that can really CHANGE you…now we get it. Things I thought I knew about, or things I never knew were even in the Bible…

    I am a woman with very little discipline…I start many things and finish very little. God knows everything about me and KNEW that if I had not had this accountability I never would have made it out of Genesis so I say…THANK YOU LORD FOR GIVING ME THESE WOMEN who I KNOW and I FEEL prayed for me. I feel closer to some of you and I have never even met most of you. I truly feel a love for you guys. I have revealed things about myself that would make some people fall off their chair and yet I knew that NONE of you were judging me or even cared about the things of my past.

    This was NOT easy for any of us. But when God is with us, and it is HIs will (and this was) He carried us through!

    I pray all of you don’t close this book and check this off your list. Why did God have you do this in this season of your life? What are you to do with it? Is it just knowlege? Or can we now let God take it and make it into Wisdom in us?

    This is the Sword in the Battle of Life. What do you do with it now? A mission trip? talk to a neigbor? Write about it? Teach it? What I do know is that it is not to be just bottled up. The purpose of the written account of the Gospel is to bring it FORWARD. How you are to do that is different for everyone. We are all given DIFFERENT gifts and God will use us in different ways (not to be compared). The important thing is that HE USES us.

  13. Posted by Gay Sutley on January 1, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Wow, the whole Bible in one year in the order the events happened…AMAZING! So excited to start in Genesis again! Thanks Trish, this last year has been eye-opening. I just love HIS WORD!

  14. Thanks for another amazing, challenging year! What a year it has been!

  15. Posted by peggy on January 1, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    King of Kings, and Lord of Lords – I bow down…

    Amen, come Lord Jesus.– I am in awe of the Bible
    and how it is written.
    This is my 2nd read thru and I feel compelled to
    go and tell. Nothing compares to Him. NOTHING !
    THANK YOU TRISH AND EVERYONE…see you soon !

  16. Posted by Tedi on January 1, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    I was visiting with my neighbor this afternoon and I was excited to tell her that I was reading the Bible through. She’s 84 years old and told me, in a humble manner, that’s she’s read the Bible through 40 times…:) All I could say was….WOW! She’s a lovely lady and I’m so blessed to have her as a neighbor.

Leave a comment